When do kids break up from school? February half term 2022 dates

0
107
When do kids break up from school? February half term 2022 dates

When do kids break up from school? February half term 2022 dates

When do kids break up from school? February half term 2022 dates
Credit: Canva

With the end of January nigh, many parents are wondering when do kids break up from school for the February half term 2022?

It might feel like they’ve only just returned to school. But January can often feel like a long month after the excitement of Christmas. And the February half term is certainly something to look forward to. Especially after another unusual academic term, where covid cases have had parents fretting if schools are closing again.

Whilst it’s a little cooler and darker outside, there’s still plenty of fun things to do with kids during the annual half term. Be that a walk with a hot chocolate during a National Trust visit or some cheap rainy-day activities inside the house. We share the break-up dates for schools across the UK alongside lots of handy ideas to help keep them busy.

When do kids break up from school for February half term 2022?

In England, kids will break up from school on Friday 11 February for the half term. Whilst Wales breaks up a week later for their February half term on Friday 18 February. Schoolchildren in both England and Wales receive a full week off school during this break.

This differs from pupils in Scotland and Northern Ireland. The February half term in Scotland begins on Friday 11 February and lasts until Tuesday 15 February, with kids returning to school on the Wednesday. As for Northern Ireland, the school closes for just two days during their mid break: Thursday 17 and Friday 18 February 2022.

a table. showing the different February half term dates across the UK

Credit: Canva

2021-2022 school holidays and term dates

The following school holiday and term dates for the academic year 2021-2022 represent the majority of schools. Though it’s always advised to check these dates directly with your child’s school.

England:

  • Winter school term resumes: Tuesday 4 January to Friday 11 February 2022.
  • February half term: Monday 14 February to Friday 18 February 2022.
  • Spring school term: Monday 21 February to Friday 1 April 2022.
  • Easter holidays: Monday 4 April to Monday 18 April 2022 (*Easter Monday bank holiday)
  • Spring school term resumes: Tuesday 19 April to Friday 27 May 2022.
  • Half term: Monday 30 May – Friday 3 June 2022.
  • Summer school term: Monday 6 June to Friday 22 July 2022.

Check individual school term dates in England here.

Wales:

  • Winter school term resumes: Tuesday 4 January to Friday 18 February 2022.
  • February half term: Monday 21 February to Friday 25 February 2022.
  • Spring school term: Monday 28 February to Friday 8 April 2022.
  • Easter holidays: Monday 11 April to Friday 22 April 2022 (*Easter Monday bank holiday)
  • Spring school term resumes: Monday 25 April to Friday 27 May 2022.
  • Half term: Monday 30 May – Friday 3 June 2022.
  • Summer school term: Monday 6 June to Friday 22 July 2022.

Check individual school term dates in Wales here.

Scotland:

  • Winter school term resumes: Thursday 6 January to Thursday 10 February 2022.
  • February half term: Friday 11 February to Tuesday 15 February 2022.
  • Spring school term: Monday 16 February to Friday 1 April 2022.
  • Easter holidays: Monday 4 April to Friday 15 April 2022.
  • Summer school term: Monday 18 April to Thursday 30 June 2022. (*exception of the May Day bank holiday – 2 May).

Check individual school term dates in Scotland here.

Northern Ireland:

  • Winter school term resumes: Tuesday 4 January to Wednesday 16 February 2022.
  • February half term: Thursday 17 February to Friday 18 February 2022.
  • Spring school term: Monday 21 February to Wednesday 13 April 2022. (*exception of the St Patrick’s day – 17 March).
  • Easter holidays: Thursday 14 April to Friday 22 April 2022.
  • Summer school term: Monday 25 April to Thursday 30 July 2022. (*exception of the May Day bank holiday – 2 May).

Check individual school term dates in Northern Ireland here.

Things to do during February half term:

Whilst the temperatures have dropped and the days are darker, there’s still plenty of activities to do that ensure some quality time together. Be that a day out with the whole family or some free crafts to keep them busy at home.

Older children will love a day out to one of the UK’s best theme parks like Alton Towers or Thorpe Park. History buffs should explore some of the best UK castles or consider a National Trust visit. Whilst animal lovers will love a trip to the zoo or local aquarium.

a close up of a boy at the zoo during the school holidays

Credit: Getty

Rainy day activities could include a trip to the bowling alley, cinema or a soft play area. And those hoping to save the pennies or hide from the wet weather can also keep busy inside too. Host a mini junior bake-off competition with these easy kids baking recipes. Or let their creative juices flow by making tie dye t-shirts or trying out other easy crafts for children.

Families looking to take a trip further afield should swat up on our regional Family Days Out guides too…

Family Days Out:

Video of the Week

The post When do kids break up from school? February half term 2022 dates appeared first on GoodtoKnow.

Source : https://www.goodto.com/family/when-school-break-up-summer-holidays-601641